Trip to Bavaria, teil 3 and 4 months after the fact

When I visit my relatives my trip, like Gaul, is divided into 3 parts. I usually spend the first part with my relatives in Oberammergau/Bad Kohlgrub, with a side trip to Munich. The second (usually short) part is spent with relatives near Augsburg. This year I saw the Augsburg relatives when they visited my aunt in Bad Kohlgrub, so I skipped that leg. I usually end my trip visiting another cousin and her husband near Mühldorf. In a bit of good fortune, one of her sons was having his son baptized that weekend, so I was able to go to that.

IMG_20141018_165553_138

The family gathered outside the chapel

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Taufe was held in a itsy bitsy chapel within walking distance, so we walked.

Walkin' to the chapel ...

Walkin’ to the chapel …

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The ceremony was lead by a deacon and not a priest and was absolutely lovely. Afterward, we gathered at my cousin’s son’s house for some Leberkas and Alte Liebe

Taufe Lorenz  18.10.2014 025

Mmmmm, Leberkas u. Kartoffelsalat.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My last evening in Bayern was spent at the Unertl restaurant in Mühldorf, where we had a lovely dinner, great conversation, and a Weissbierlikör that was pretty amazing.

A Weizen and a weizen Likör. Guess which is which?

A Weizen and a Weizen likör. Guess which is which

 

2 Responses

  1. Yum, Alte Liebe is my favorite!

    Can you brew its approximate at home?

  2. Cliff, I may need to bring in an expert to go over just how it might differ from the Schneider clone I brewed in the fall. Luckily, I brought some back for my expert to pay a debt when TSV 1860 tied his team (Darmstadt) the first time.🙂

Leave a Reply

