• Pages

  • Categories

  • Recent tweets

    • RT @docrocktex26: Republican leaders also knew the Republican Party was undermining our democracy with voter suppression aimed at Blacks fo… 5 hours ago
    • RT @Will_Bunch: McConnell: 1. Blocks all Obama moves for 8 years 2. Stonewalls SCOTUS nominee 3. Blocks truth on Russia hack None dare… 5 hours ago
    • RT @kurteichenwald: At this point, if this photo doesn't bother you, you are delusional or so blinded by partisanship u cant think straight… 5 hours ago
    • RT @Kasparov63: To complete the process, Tillerson's nomination should have to be approved by the Russian parliament. 5 hours ago
    • Keep it up, Army! Beat Navy! 8 hours ago

A too short interlude – München

For me, a visit to Bayern isn’t complete without a trip to the city of my birth and where I had my first law job after law school. This time it would be a bit tricky, since the Deutsche Bahn was going on strike every other day, or so it seemed. Luckily, my cousin’s wife was heading into Munich* one of the days I wanted to visit, so she dropped me off at the Donnersbergerbrücke before heading off to the Kunsthalle. The S-/U-Bahn was running that day, so I took it to the Hauptbahnhof.

Fußgänger Zone

Fußgänger Zone

I then walked to the Hugendubel off of Marienplatz.

I love spending time and money here

I love spending time and money here

As usual, I got a little overwhelmed by the selection, so I emailed a [virtual] friend, Katy Derbyshire for some recommendations. To my happy surprise, she replied almost immediately, and I picked up Im Kopf von Bruno Schulz and Johnny und Jean, as well as a book I’d been looking for for awhile, Sendlinger G’schichten by Sigi Sommer. Purchases safely in my backpack, I made my way over to the Jewish Museum for two exhibits recommended by the Sueddeutsche:

The Jewish Museum

The Jewish Museum

1. War! Jews between the fronts, 1914-1918  and

2. Culture on the brink: Jewish life on the Tegernsee, 1900-1933

I was actually a little surprised I got to see the second one, since it wasn’t supposed to start until that evening. Both exhibits were pretty intense. Inside the museum, I saw someone who looked an aweful like Munich’s former mayor, Christian Ude.

An hour and a half later, it was time to meetup with Ken McBeth Knowles at the Ladencafé Marais.  I was a little apprehensive, since I had never met him in person before, only through twitter and google+. I needn’t have worried, as he and his friend Elaine were warm, interesting, and entertaining companions. I had a blast and learned a lot. After a leasurely cake and coffee,  I hurried over to the Lenbachhaus, my absolute favorite museum, in order to reacquaint myself with my favorite artist, August Macke. There is also a fun portrait of one of my favorite authors, Oskar Maria Graf by Georg Schrimpf that I wanted to see in person.

The Lenbachhause, which has a new entrance after an multiyear rennovation

The Lenbachhause, which has a new entrance after a multiyear rennovation

This used to be the entrance, back when I lived in Munich

This used to be the entrance, back when I lived in Munich

A couple of hours later, it was time for dinner. I headed off to the Weisses Brauhaus in Tal, although I did stop off first at the TSV 1860 fan shop to pick up a winter hat, especially since we are supposed to have a very cold winter here in Baltimore this year.

Where I go whenever I'm in Munich

Where I go whenever I’m in Munich

It was still relatively warm in Munich, so I sat outside. I couldn’t decide what kind of meat to eat, so I ordered a 3-fer: 2 cuts of pork and a cut of beef. It went well with the Aventinus and the Sendlinger Stories of Sigi Sommer.

Etwas vom Schwein, a Semmelknöd'l and an Aventinus

Etwas vom Schwein, a Semmelknöd’l and an Aventinus

After dinner, I caught the 20:35  train from Munich. According to my fitbit, I walked 13 miles that day.

* She was helping to set up the Munich Rococo from Asam to Günther exhibit.

5 Responses

  1. Ken is a great friend!

  2. I’m glad I got the chance to meet him.

  3. That’s exactly what I call “a Perfect Day”! Thanks for taking us virtually with you no your tour through Munich. I hope, your Munich-Mütze will keep you warm during these cold days!

    Best wishes
    Renate

  4. Mei’ 60er Kappe hält mich scho’ warm.🙂

  5. […] into 3 parts. I usually spend the first part with my relatives in Oberammergau/Bad Kohlgrub, with a side trip to Munich. The second (usually short) part is spent with relatives near Augsburg. This year I saw the […]

Leave a Reply

