• Pages

  • Categories

  • Recent tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

A too short interlude… Part One

Back in mid-October, I visited my relatives in Oberammergau, Bad Kohlgrub, and Oberflossing. The occasion for my visit was to see my aunt (my mom’s sister), who isn’t getting any younger. And while talking to her on the phone is nice, talking to her over coffee and one of her homemade cakes is even better.

I got in to Munich at 7 am and by 10 am, my cousin Klaus had me hiking in the fields near Mittenwald:

Mittenwald - Lower Kranzberg

Mittenwald – Lower Kranzberg

Afterwards, we went to Oberammergau for lunch and to drop off my luggage at his house.

IMG_20141011_153741_594

Where I spent most of my time – Oberammergau

IMG_20141010_102009_480

I stayed in the house just to the left of the sign. It’s a bit hidden by the tree.

The next day, I went to see my aunt in Bad Kohlgrub. I brought along a beer I had brought with me from my homebrew cellar for her to try. From the look on her face, I’m not sure she liked it.

My godmother and me.

My godmother and me.

6 Responses

  1. Ahh, Mittenwald is such a beautiful area! Especially when homemade cake is involved.

  2. How fabulous you hit the best weather you could have had for Bayern! That and Mohnkuchen – super.

  3. oh – and isn’t it a bit daring to take beer to Bavaria (coals to Newcastle)?

  4. Ilse, it would have been more daring had I taken a style of beer that wasn’t acceptable to a Bavarian (although my aunt is a Sudetendeutscherin). The one I took was similar to an Aventinus, albeit with a slightly higher alcohol content. 🙂

  5. […] my trip, like Gaul, is divided into 3 parts. I usually spend the first part with my relatives in Oberammergau/Bad Kohlgrub, with a side trip to Munich. The second (usually short) part is spent with relatives near Augsburg. […]

Leave a Reply

