• Pages

  • Categories

  • Recent tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Spaetzle tweak

In the spirit of Mark Bittman’s, Food Matters, I have been monkeying around with my spätzle recipe in an effort to make it more healthy and I think I have hit upon a formula that works. First, I caramelize some onions in a large skillet. I have also been know to use a leek, chopped into small pieces and added after the onions have started to brown. Set a big pot of water to boil. For the spätzle, I use:

1 cup regular flour 3/4 cup whole wheat flour 1/4 cup cornmeal (fine is better) nutmeg – about 1/4 to 1/2 tsp pinch of salt 2 eggs enough water to make the dough about the consistency of pancake batter.

I make the spätzle in batches, using my mom’s old spätzle maker, but you can use a colander with holes and a wooden spoon to force the batter into the pot of gently boiling water. About a minute after the spätzle rise to the top, remove them with a slotted spoon and add them to the skillet with the onions. Repeat until you have used all the dough. Stir the spätzle/onion/leek mixture. Serve. Add grated cheese at the table.

5 Responses

  1. I am extremely pleased your tweet inspired me to come back over here: I really want to conquer making Spätzle so am keen to try out as many different recipes as possible! Now then, where’s that online measurement converter😉

  2. The online measurement converter? ‘Tis here.

  3. colander – what a great idea! much less messy than the spaetzle machine.

  4. Abspülen mit kaltem Wasser hilft ah. Rinsing the colander/spätzle maker with cold water right after making the last batch helps with the cleanup.

Leave a Reply

